Jayant N. Acharya, MD, DM, FANA

Southern Illinois University

Dr. Jayant Acharya is a Professor and Chair of the Department of Neurology and Executive Director of the Neuroscience Institute at Southern Illinois University (SIU) School of Medicine. 

Dr. Acharya obtained his medical school training followed by residencies in Internal Medicine and Neurology in India before moving to the United States, where he completed a residency in Neurology at Wake Forest University School of Medicine and a fellowship in Epilepsy and Clinical Neurophysiology at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation. Subsequently, he worked as an Assistant Professor of Neurology at the University of Pittsburgh and Associate Professor of Neurology at Saint Louis University before moving to Penn State University as a tenured Professor of Neurology, and Chief of the Division of Epilepsy and Co-Director of the Clinical Neurophysiology Lab.

He is the recipient of numerous honors and academic, research and teaching awards, and is listed in Best Doctors in America. He has been elected a fellow of the American Epilepsy Society, American Clinical Neurophysiology Society, American Academy of Neurology and American Neurological Association. He has authored several publications on all aspects of epilepsy and has been a manuscript and book reviewer for numerous leading journals. He is on the editorial board of Clinical Neurophysiology Practice and the Journal of Clinical Neurophysiology. He is a member of various local, regional, national and international committees and served as Chair of the Self-Assessment in Epilepsy Committee, and Vice-Chair of the Educational and Professional Development Committee of the American Epilepsy Society. He has received the Distinguished Educator and Scholarship in Education awards from Penn State College of Medicine. He has been an invited speaker and panelist at a number of regional, national, and international conferences. 


NOTE: If no session is listed above, this individual is a Chair or Co-chair of a session(s). Please see the individual session listings found in the Program for a full list of session participants.